OPINION: Ballon D’Or Awards and Its Controversy

OPINION: Ballon D’Or Awards and Its Controversy

The France Soccer Ballon D’or award has at all times been crammed with a number of controversy amongst soccer followers at any time when the organizers announce the winner.

Ballon D'Or

Ballon D’Or


Paris Saint-Germain’s midfielder Lionel Messi was named the winner of this 12 months’s title, nevertheless it was left questions amongst many individuals asking why Bayern Munich’s striker, Robert Lewandowski, was not given the award regardless of his kind previously two years. The Polish striker scored 47 targets in 44 matches in 2020 and has scored 64 targets in 54 matches this 12 months (2021)It.

We’ll take a look at a number of the Ballon D’or awards which have precipitated a number of controversies.

In 2006, Fabio Cannavaro received the award. In keeping with the organizers, he was given the award as a result of the Italian nationwide staff received the FIFA World Cup beating France within the finals on penalties. Soccer Followers believed the award ought to have been received by France’s Zinedine Zidane due to his excellent kind and the way he single-handedly took the French Nationwide staff to the ultimate.

He scored three targets and has two assists within the competitors. There have been unconfirmed rumors that Zidane didn’t win the award due to the headbutt he gave Marco Materazzi.

In 2010, Barcelona’s Lionel Messi received the Balon D’Or award forward of his teammate Andres Iniesta. Soccer followers had been left livid as a result of they believed each gamers acquired to the semi-final of the UEFA Champions League and in addition received La Liga that season.

Because it considerations the Nationwide staff, Argentina misplaced to Germany within the Quarterfinals of the World Cup whereas Spain received the World Cup beating the Netherlands within the ultimate with Iniesta scoring the profitable objective. Going by the achievements of each gamers, it was anticipated that the Spaniard was going to win the award, however the organizers introduced Messi because the winner after he acquired the very best variety of votes.

In 2020, France Soccer determined to cancel the award ceremony due to the outbreak of the Coronavirus. In keeping with the organizers, the soccer season was too brief to resolve the winner of the award, following the best way soccer leagues world wide had been minimize brief abruptly.

Soccer followers believed it was a 12 months Robert Lewandowski ought to have been given the award nearly as an alternative of deciding to cancel the award ceremony. The Polish striker scored 47 targets in 44 matches and he additionally helped Bayern Munich win the Bundesliga title, the UEFA Champions League, and the FIFA Membership World Cup.

Share This


Wordpress (0)
Disqus ( )